Young Liars #18

Young Liars #18young liars 18

Vertigo / DC Comics
(w) David Lapham
(a) David Lapham
FC 32 pgs w/ ads $2.99 US / Higher in Canada

“It’s all over now. Thank God I was so sick of it all. I mean what was the point? Nobody got it anyway?”

These are the words that start off the last issue of an amazing series. They both speak the mind of the main character Danny and perhaps the mind of David Lapham. I don’t know if I got Young Liars or not – I’ve been too damned entertained to care.

“I have never lied to you.”

David Lapham is a genius. This was easily one of the best comics Vertigo has put out in the last couple of years and its reward is another quick death. Every issue was brilliant. Every issue changed everything that I thought I knew about the series. In an industry filled with superhero comics – Young Liars stood out because Lapham refused to settle for convention.

Each issue stood on its own while building on the last issue – all the while changing everything that had previously happened. To explain what the entire series was about at this point seems pointless. How do you explain a rock n’ roll crime, adventure, science fiction, thrilling horror, evil alien spiders from Mars mind fuck?

Like another previous Vertigo series I really enjoyed, Crossing Midnight, Young Liars has been stopped before its time. It’s a good stopping point but clearly there can way more stories to tell. I hope this isn’t the last of it but I know it probably is. Now might be a good time to finish off David Lapham’s Stray Bullets now that crime comics have become the in thing but that would be too predictable and I’d rather keep reading Young Liars – alas this isn’t to be. But I’m not lying when I say that this has been the best ongoing title of 2009. (Shane Hnetka)

One thought on “Young Liars #18

  1. Honest to god I was going to write a review for this but you’ve beat me to the punch, Shane. I felt the same about the opening lines of this final issue. This was a combination of Danny the character and Lapham the comics writer. I agree that I was entertained throughout but I can’t go as far to say Young Liars was the best or even one of the best ongoing titles of 2009. I think that is being far too gracious.

Leave a Reply

