2009 Eisner Award Winners Announced

2009 Eisner Award Winners Announced

The winners of the 21st Annual Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards (a.k.a. the Eisners) were announced on Friday, July 24 at Comic-Con International: San Diego, offering retailers a golden opportunity to promote some of the most popular and respected products on the market to their customers!

Encompassing 26 different categories, this year’s slate of Eisner Award winners features talent from all corners of the comics spectrum, including humor, action, horror, all-ages and more!

Lauderhill, FL’s Tate’s Comics was named the winner of the Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailing Award. Eleanor Davis (Stinky) was named winner of the Russ Manning Promising Newcomer Award. Additionally, Harold Gray, Graham Ingels, Matt Baker, Reed Crandall, Russ Heath and Jerry Iger were named to the Hall of Fame.

For more information on 2009’s Eisner Awards, click here.

Best Short Story: “Murder He Wrote,” by Ian Boothby, Nina Matsumoto, and Andrew Pepoy, in Bongo’s The Simpsons’ Treehouse of Horror #14

Best Continuing Series: DC’s All Star Superman. by Grant Morrison and Frank Quitely

Best Limited Series: Dark Horse’s Hellboy: The Crooked Man, by Mike Mignola and Richard Corben

Best New Series: Marvel’s Invincible Iron Man, by Matt Fraction and Salvador Larocca

Best Publication for Kids: DC’s Tiny Titans, by Art Baltazar and Franco

Best Publication for Teens/Tweens: HarperCollins’ Coraline, by Neil Gaiman, adapted by P. Craig Russell

Best Humor Publication: Dark Horse’s Herbie Archives, by “Shane O’Shea” (Richard E. Hughes) and Ogden Whitney

Best Anthology: Image’s Comic Book Tattoo: Narrative Art Inspired by the Lyrics and Music of Tori Amos, edited by Rantz Hoseley

Best Webcomic: Finder, by Carla Speed McNeil, http://www.shadowlinecomics.com/webcomics/#/finder/

Best Reality-Based Work: Drawn & Quarterly’s What It Is, by Lynda Barry

Best Graphic Album – New: Top Shelf’s Swallow Me Whole, by Nate Powell

Best Graphic Album – Reprint: Dark Horse’s Hellboy Library Edition, vols. 1 and 2, by Mike Mignola

Best Archival Collection/Project – Strips: Sunday Press Books’ Little Nemo in Slumberland, Many More Splendid Sundays, by Winsor McCay

Best Archival Collection/Project – Comic Books: Dark Horse’s Creepy Archives, by various

Best U.S. Edition of International Material: Fantagraphics’ The Last Musketeer, by Jason

Best U.S. Edition of International Material – Japan: Vertical’s Dororo, by Osamu Tezuka

Best Writer: Bill Willingham, Fables, House of Mystery (Vertigo/DC)

Best Writer/Artist: Chris Ware, Acme Novelty Library (Acme)

Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team: Guy Davis, BPRD (Dark Horse)

Best Painter/Multimedia Artist: Jill Thompson, Magic Trixie, Magic Trixie Sleeps Over (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

Best Cover Artist: James Jean, Fables (Vertigo/DC); The UmbrellaAcademy (Dark Horse)

Best Coloring: Dave Stewart, Abe Sapien: The Drowning, BPRD, The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane, The Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse); Body Bags (Image); Captain America: White (Marvel)

Best Lettering: Chris Ware, Acme Novelty Library #19 (Acme)

Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism: Comic Book Resources, produced by Jonah Weiland (www.comicbookresources.com)

Best Comics-Related Book: Kirby: King of Comics, by Mark Evanier (Abrams)

Best Publication Design: Hellboy Library Editions, designed by Cary Grazzini and Mike Mignola (Dark Horse)


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s